The Health Resort Park is the town’s oldest garden, situated in the historic area of Druskininkai. In the 19th century, it was the centre of the visitors’ daily activities including treatments, entertainment and interactions. The garden’s layout is symmetrical, and its individual parts are based on an English-style garden with winding paths. It has health facilities and a Kurhauz. In the past, the Kurhauz had a station, bookstore-library, confectionary and a theatre hall, and people could have a drink of kefir or kumis there. During Soviet times, a Buvette over a mineral spring was built, along with other buildings for drinking the mineral water. In 2011, the park was reconstructed and new sculptures, paths, benches and lighting were added, new greenery was planted, and the Beauty Spring surroundings were changed. Another historical landmark in the park is a river water level gauge that was built in 1881.
The old mineral water drinking fountain is located a building over a mineral spring from which the mineral water is taken. It is the oldest water Buvette in Druskininkai.
Beauty Spring is the most salty and the deepest spring in Druskininkai, which has skin cleansing and rejuvenating properties. The spring flowing from the stone bas-relief near the Nemunas River is more than 300 metres deep. The spring water is especially salty, so drinking it is not recommended. However, the water can be used to wash your face and hands, or to rinse your throat. It is believed that the water rejuvenates the skin, providing it with beauty and invigoration. According to legend, in ancient times a duke accidentally found himself in this place while hunting. The hunt was successful, so the duke had to shoot down a falcon. Pierced by a well-aimed arrow, the falcon fell into the Nemunas and the duke jumped into the water to grab it. On the shore, his duchess began to cry and run along the banks of the river, pouring out salty tears and shouting for her husband. After a while, the duke emerged from the water alive and unhurt, with the falcon in his hands. According to the legend, the salty springs broke through from the places on the ground where the duchess’ tears had fallen.
The Neo-Gothic Holy Virgin Mary Church, built in 1931, was liked by the Polish Marshal Jozef Pilsudski, and it was often visited by the linguist Juozas Balčikonis, the poet and prose writer Vincas Mykolaitis-Putinas, and many other famous Lithuanian public figures. The Holy Virgin Mary Church is an extremely valuable and impressive place in terms of both architecture and culture.
The Church of the Mother of God’s icon named ‘The Joy of All Mourners’ was built in 1865, and it is one of the oldest wooden architecture objects in Druskininkai to have been preserved to this day. The shape of the church clearly resembles some of the features of a Russian Orthodox church. There also are details which are typical of the Romantic and Historical periods, as well as unique and exceptional architectural forms.
Liškiava is an old village in the Dzūkija Region that is known for its outstanding late-Baroque Blessed Trinity Church and former Dominican monastery. Today, the church is included in the cultural heritage register. Visitors can go on a guided tour of the 17th century church and its crypts where the remains of the Dominican monks rest, as well as seeing a liturgical heritage exhibition.
Veisiejai St. George's Church is a large church that is also known as Dzūkija Cathedral. The church is shaped in Classical and Baroque forms and is full of art monuments. In its crypt there are the tombs of the church’s founders Dukes Tadas and Marija Oginskis, Matas Žynevas, and Viktorija Oginskaitė Žynevienė. Next to the church, a belfry was built which houses the oldest brass bell in the area, cast in 1650.
The town of Veisiejai is located in a very picturesque place – on a peninsula surrounded by Ančia Lake. Veisiejai was first mentioned in written sources from the 18th century. The old part of Veisiejai town consists of the historical centre with a dense network of streets, a square, building fragments, Baroque structures and the Classical architecture of Veisiejai St. George’s Church and Veisiejai Manor.
This 30-metre high ash tree is the true beauty of Veisiejai Manor Park, where it has been growing for more than 200 years. It is the second widest ash tree in Lithuania, with a trunk width of some five metres. In the spring, as the other trees begin to be covered with leaves, this ash tree remains bare. A story tells us that all trees have eyes and are able to see, but the ash tree is blind. Since it is unable to see the nature awakening all around, this 205 year-old tree is the last to grow its leaves.
Ludwik Lejzer Zamenhof is the creator of the Esperanto language, who moved to Veisiejai in 1885. Zamenhof was born and studied in Poland, he later graduated in Moscow and he visited his brother-in-law at Veisiejai. Here, Zamenhof established his doctor’s practice and restored his manuscript of the Esperanto language, which his father had burned in his childhood. Veisiejai is therefore considered as the birthplace of Esperanto, and a monument featuring a bust of Ludwik Lejzer Zamenhof has been erected in the town’s park.
Diocesan Cross Church of the Blessed Virgin Mary, Our Lady of the Rosary is a Catholic sanctuary located on the southern shore of Dusia Lake. People say that after praying in front of the image of God’s mother in the chapel, one can be miraculously cured from all kinds of diseases. As in the old days, celebrations of the Pentecost, Peter and Octova take place here, attracting thousands of pilgrims.
Meteliai was first mentioned in documents from 1508. The first church of Meteliai was built in 1619 by Povilas Sapiega, but in 1655 it was burned by the Russian army. A wooden church was then built in 1711 but it was also burned in 1807, this time because it was hit by lightning. The New Church of Meteliai, built in 1822, has Classic and Neo-Baroque features. The church also houses valuable paintings that were created at the end of the 17th century.
This church was built in 1935 in the inter-war period, and it has a unique architectural style. It was designed and built by the priest Jonas Reitelaitis, and the unique features of the building were created by combining folk architecture with professional architecture. The author originally included some Neo-Gothic shapes, but he also used some folk elements that were popular at that time.